Go to top of page

Chair of the Tax Practitioners Board welcomes new Secretary/CEO

6 August 2018

Chair of the Tax Practitioners Board welcomes new Secretary/CEO

Chair of the Tax Practitioners Board (TPB) Mr Ian Taylor today welcomed a new Secretary/Chief Executive Officer, Mr Michael O’Neill, to the role.

A taxation lawyer with close to 30 years of public service experience, Mr O’Neill joins the TPB from the Australian Taxation Office (ATO) where he was Chief Risk Officer, following senior leadership positions in investigations, advice, litigation and law reform.

He holds a Master of Laws from the University of Sydney.

‘On behalf of the Board, I am delighted to welcome Michael to the TPB,’ Mr Taylor said.

‘Michael brings a wealth of relevant experience to the role, including a background in private practice as well as nearly three decades in senior management with a strong focus on ATO legal and compliance issues,’ he said.

‘We look forward to working with Michael to advance the interests of both tax practitioners and the consumers of tax services.’

Mr Taylor also thanked outgoing Secretary, Ms Rosemary Holloway, for her contribution in assisting the Board in its role to register and regulate tax practitioners over the past five years.

‘Rosemary joined the TPB in 2013 and since that time has a played an important part in leading and managing staff to deliver outcomes for the Board,’ he said.

About the Tax Practitioners Board:

The Tax Practitioners Board regulates tax practitioners in order to protect consumers. The TPB aims to assure the community that tax practitioners meet appropriate standards of professional and ethical conduct.

Follow us on Twitter @TPB_gov_au and LinkedIn