Go to top of page

Board Members

Tax Practitioners Board members

Julie Berry

Julie is a registered tax (financial) adviser and has practised as a financial planner for over 26 years. She is the Managing Director of Berry Financial Services, and is an authorised representative of Clearview Financial Advice Pty Ltd. She is Chair of the NSW Mid North Coast Chapter of the Financial Planning Association of Australia (FPA), and has previously served as both the Chair and as a board member of the FPA. She is a life member of the FPA and recipient of the FPA Distinguished Service Award and member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Julie is a Certified Financial Planner.

Peter de Cure

Peter has experience in taxation matters developed over a 25 year career with KPMG. He brings to the TPB strong technical skills in taxation, finance, accounting and practical business knowledge across many industries and an expert understanding of the challenges faced in the administration of the Australian taxation system and the work of taxation practitioners.

Jim Hawson

Jim is a registered tax agent and Fellow of Certified Practising Accountants (CPA) Australia. He works with small to medium enterprises as both a consultant and board member. Jim began his career at the Australian Taxation Office before joining Hobart accounting firm Garity, Hurd and Partners in 1987. He completed his public practice certificate qualification in 1989 and became a partner that year. In 2003 Jim joined the national accounting firm Investor Group (now Crowe Horwath) as a principal and was a member of the Tasmanian management team until his retirement in 2015. Jim holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Tasmania.


Julianne Jaques

Julianne is a barrister specialising in taxation. She has been a tax adviser for over 25 years. She is a Chartered Accountant, a Chartered Tax Adviser, and Tax Bar Association member. Formerly an accountant with Coopers & Lybrand and a solicitor with Freehills, she was also an adviser to the Federal Government during the GST and business tax reforms of 1999 to 2001. As a current member of The Tax Institute Professional Development Committee, the Tax Bar Association Committee and the Australian Taxation Office (ATO) Legal Practitioners Working Group on Continuing Professional Development (CPD), Julianne regularly organises CPD events for tax practitioners. She holds Bachelor of Economics and Laws degrees from Monash University, and a Doctorate in Juridical Science from the University of Melbourne.

Ian Klug AM

Ian is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CAANZ) and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He is Chairman of Brisbane Marketing, the city's economic development agency. Ian is also currently Chairman of Place Design Group, an international planning and design company, the Lord Mayor’s Economic Development Steering Committee and The Water and Carbon Group. He also sits on the board of the Brisbane Festival and chairs the Finance Committee. Previous roles include Partner of Pitcher Partners Chartered Accountants, Chairman of Queensland Artworkers Alliance, Director of Tennis Queensland and Councillor of Tennis Australia. Ian was the recipient of an Australian Sports Medal from the Prime Minister in 2000. Ian holds a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Commerce.


Greg Lewis

Greg is a chartered accountant, chartered tax advisor and registered tax agent. He began his career as a graduate at KPMG and then moved to Ernst & Young being promoted to principal in the tax division. After returning to KPMG as a partner, Greg went on to become a consultant in taxation at the law firm Minter Ellison. He has been a company director and chairman of various organisations both public and private and is currently managing director of a specialist industrial fittings manufacturer Bayside Benders Pty Ltd, supplying the civil, electrical and telecommunications industries. He still consults to a number of private companies on a wide range of technical and strategic matters. Greg holds a Bachelor of Economics and a Masters in Taxation.


Ria Sotiropoulos

Ria has practiced as a tax barrister at the Victorian Bar for nine years and will bring extensive tax and law experience to the TPB. She has significant experience in advising a wide range of clients in roles at large law firms and also as a senior taxation consultant at large accounting firms.

Last modified: 12 September 2017